(781) 916-2284 [email protected]

ITIL Practices

ITIL Practices

ITIL® 4 defines a management practice as “a set of organizational resources designed for performing work or accomplishing an objective.”

Capability areas were known as “processes” and “functions” in ITIL v3 and referenced people and tools.  This has been expanded in ITIL 4 to explicitly include the Four Dimensions considering elements such as culture, technology, information, data management, and more.

ITIL 4 defines 34 Practices (up from the 26 Processes and 4 Functions of ITIL v3) and organizes them into 3 domains: General Management Practices, Service Management Practices, and Technical Management Practices.

General Management Practices

  • Architecture Management
  • Continual Improvement
  • Information Security Management
  • Knowledge Management
  • Measurement and Reporting
  • Organizational Change Management
  • Portfolio Management
  • Project Management
  • Relationship Management
  • Risk Management
  • Service Financial Management
  • Strategy Management
  • Supplier Management
  • Workforce and Talent Management

Service Management Practices

  • Availability Management
  • Business Analysis
  • Capacity and Performance Management
  • Change Enablement
  • Incident Management
  • IT Asset Management
  • Monitoring and Event Management
  • Problem Management
  • Release Management
  • Service Catalogue Management
  • Service Configuration Management
  • Service Continuity Management
  • Service Design
  • Service Desk
  • Service Level Management
  • Service Request Management
  • Service Validation and Testing

Technical Management Practices

  • Deployment Management
  • Infrastructure and Platform Management
  • Software Development and Management

ITIL® is a registered trademark of Axelos Limited, used under permission of Axelos Limited. All rights reserved.
Reuse of any content on this page is strictly forbidden without the consent of ClearBridge Technology Group and Axelos Limited.

We're Here To Help!

13 + 9 =

Call Us